The last few weeks have been good for watching new things.  I had recently run out of my normal shows to watch on Netflix so I have been searching for new series.  Here are a few that you should check out.

 

Boardwalk Empire

I’ve heard it was good but had not gotten around to seeing until now.  It is about a corrupt politician Enoch “Nucky” Thompson in the Prohibition era of Atlantic City, New Jersey.  I’ve only seen the first 2 episodes; however, I already like it.  I personally love mobster type stories and they show heavyweights like Lucky Luciano and Al Capone.  Being anti-alcohol, I thought I would be annoyed about the Prohibition (outlawing alcohol) fight of the times, but it has all been very entertaining.  The show gave me ideas of so many opinion blog posts to do.

 

Gormenghast

Star filled miniseries based on a series of books by Mervyn Peake.  The story focuses on Steerpike’s, played by Jonathan Rhys-Meyers, rise to prominence in a royal family’s household and lives.  I do like the acting abilities, Rhys-Meyers particularly in The Tudors.  Steerpike is basically a kitchen slave and makes connections with people to get better jobs and more influence in the kingdom.  I was awestruck by the lengths he went to in advancing.  It is a fantasy setting seemingly medieval in time period but it’s not clear.  I pretty much watching anything that shows political/royal infighting.  Other people that I knew of in this miniseries:  Stephen Fry, Ian Richardson, Neve McIntosh, John Sessions, and Celia Imrie.

 

Murdoch Mysteries

Amazing blend of TV mystery and science set in 1895 Toronto, Ontario, Canada.  The focus is on Detective William Murdoch, who a police detective with an interest in science and morality.  They tie in several famous real-life people such as Jack the Ripper and Thomas Edison and new inventions such as lie detectors and AC electricity.  It is done so well and for me as a scientist the inventions are as interesting as the crimes.  Even with the serious crimes it discusses, it is not graphic at all.  I find brutal crime in TV and movies unnecessary.  I like in the old movie days that bad things are implied by shadows.  They show close ups of dead bodies but it won’t make you sick to see.  I also was intrigued that the pathologist was female especially in that time period.  I’m near the end of season 2 on Netflix.  I think it is an ongoing series.

 

The Perfect Host

There is not much I can explain about this movie that wouldn’t give away the many plot twists.  I’m using the Netflix blurb to focus my explanation here.  A man robs a bank and lies his way into a man’s house for help because he is injured.  A series of events happen to tell the fugitive that this was not the best place to go.  I was fully entertained by this movie and would recommend it for anyone who likes dark comedies.

