I’m so tired of the fake friendly people.  Why is it that when I see the same people in the hallway at work (that I don’t know) I have to acknowledge them with a smile, nod, or some kind of hello.  I’m really sick of it.  I am just trying to get from point A to point B without someone running into me because they are coming around a corner or out a door too quickly.  This week someone asked me if it was alright if they smile at me in the hallway.  I’m guessing because sometimes I don’t notice people around me and they feel ignored.  Even people that I don’t like and I’m pretty sure don’t care if I live or die feel the need to say hello to me.  I think it is more polite to leave people alone.  Not make them acknowledge your existence for 2 sec every day for the rest of their lives.  If I have to do this 5 days a week, every week for a year that is 8 min I spend on pretending to be friendly.

On a related note, asking people how are you and all the variations that exist are not necessary.  If I want to know how your day/weekend/holiday was, I will ask.  Others seem to think it is required when you see anyone whether you want to know or not.  People ask me these things at work and there are only a handful of people that I would ask about their day/weekend/holiday.  Everyone else, don’t care.

No Further Questions

