I thought I would share my cooking adventures from Xmas. I didn’t try for a theme like I did for Thanksgiving. I just put together some new recipes for my meals.
 

Shrimp Cones with Spicy Avocado Sauce

I am still trying to incorporate new healthy foods into my diet. My last attempt with avocado was ok but this was a great improvement. I found this recipe on the Betty Crocker website.  Instead of a yogurt sauce, I made a sauce made with avocado, Sriracha, and ranch salad dressing. I really like the sauce so I think in the future I may use it as my normal salad dressing (without the Sriracha). This is also the first time I cooked with tortillas. All I had to do with these is cut them into fourths and roll them in the shape of cones. The cones are “sealed” with a toothpick so you have to remember to take them out before eating. I marinated the shrimp in olive oil and various things overnight. I’m not too impressed with that. Next time, I will use different spices. The shrimp was heated in a pan while the tortillas were browned in the oven. I put some of the sauce in cone and then 3 shrimp. It turned out better than expected.

m_IMG_1727  m_IMG_1729
m_IMG_1731  m_IMG_1732
m_IMG_1735  m_IMG_1736
 
 
Ingredients:

Shrimp
48 large shrimp
2 tablespoon lime juice
0.25 cup olive oil
0.5 teaspoon cilantro
1 tablespoon honey
1/8 teaspoon salt

Sauce
0.5 cup Ranch dressing
1 large avocado
2 tablespoons Sriracha sauce

Cones
4 (8-inch) whole wheat tortillas, cut into fourths
16 wooden toothpicks

Procedure:

1. Peel shrimp and wash in colander
2. Mix Shrimp Ingredients in a medium bowl
3. Cover and refrigerate overnight
4. Blend Sauce Ingredients using a Magic Bullet
5. Heat oven to 350 degrees
6. Shape tortilla wedges into cone shapes; secure each with toothpick.
7. Place on ungreased cookie sheet.
8. Bake tortillas 3 to 5 min or until light golden around edges.
9. Drain shrimp, discarding marinade
10. Heat in a skillet over medium-high heat
11. Add shrimp and cook 3 to 5 min until shrimp turned pink
12. Drizzle 1 tablespoon sauce inside the cone
13. Place about 3 shrimp inside of each cone
 
 
For dinner, I had roast beef, homemade macaroni & cheese, and broccoli. This is my first successful homemade macaroni & cheese. I’m not showing a recipe here but I do have a picture of my plate.

m_IMG_1737  m_IMG_1738
 
 

Dessert: Oatmeal-Nut Ice Cream Cake

I again used my oatmeal-nut cookie crust since I like it so much. I made it to create a shell that I put ice cream (light ice cream) inside and topped with homemade frosting. I was disappointed in the frosting colors. My idea was to do red and green frosting but apparently it is impossible to get red with food coloring. So, I ended up with pink and green frosting. I created a checkered pattern with the center swirled. I thought it was interesting looking enough for me. I’m not trying to buy any fancy icing that I’m not going to use again. On my first time trying to cut the cake, I broke my knife. I think it was just the angle because the next one worked fine. I still had to wait for my piece to thaw a little bit. Overall, I was happy with the cake and my meals in general.

m_IMG_1722  m_IMG_1723
m_IMG_1728  m_IMG_1740
 
 
Crust Ingredients:

2.25 cups nuts (1 cup pecan and 1.25 cups almonds)
2.25 cups regular oats
0.75 teaspoon salt
0.375 cup brown sugar
0.75 cup cold Country Crock spread

Filling Ingredients:

3 cups Ice Cream

Whipped Frosting Ingredients:

0.375 cup whipping cream
0.125 cup confectioners’ sugar
0.25 teaspoon vanilla
Red and green food coloring

Crust Procedure:

1. Line a 8 in x 8 in pan with a piece of parchment paper
2. Heat oven to 350o
3. Grind the nuts and oats into a fine crumble using a Magic Bullet
4. Transfer crumble to a bowl
5. Use a pastry blender to mix in salt, sugar, and cold butter
6. Mixture until it is easy to handle
7. Press the crumble firmly into the pan
8. Bake until set (about 25 min)
9. Let the crust cool completely (about 1.5 hr)

Filling Procedure:

1. Remove ice cream from freezer to soften (about 30 min)
2. Spread ice cream over the crust
3. Freeze for 3 hr until the ice cream is firm

Whipped Frosting Procedure:

1. Chill mixing bowls
2. Add sugar, vanilla, and cream to the mixing bowl
3. Add food coloring to bowls
4. Mix on high until stiff peaks form
5. Frost cake
6. Freeze until serving

