So with all this work I put into improving my diet, it doesn’t help my bank account. I decided to have a fruit and/or vegetable with every meal. However, fruit is more expensive than candy and it also can go bad. Someone should do something about this. I used to go to the grocery store once a month. Now, I have to go at least twice a month. Plus to get the same calories as chips or cookies, I’d have to eat so much more of fruit/vegetables. That just leads to me having to buy more.

It was suggested to me that I substitute healthier versions of food I already eat like romaine lettuce for iceberg or brown for white rice. Brown rice is fine because it costs the same. I plan to completely switch over to brown rice once my big bag of white rice runs out. I had been mixing the 2 so I know I like brown rice as well. But this lettuce thing is a joke. For a while, I could buy romaine and iceberg for the same price although I got a lesser number of salads with the romaine. I tried to convince myself that the extra vitamins/minerals may be worth it. Then, romaine lettuce became more than twice the cost of iceberg. I flat out refuse to buy it now. You want me to spend 2x as much to get half as many salads? Nope.

The worst thing was that yesterday I went to the store and saw pack that contained 2 half pound York Peppermint Patties. I had no idea that existed. I almost bought it at the time but I thought this is too much. So I left the store without. Later that night, I decided to go back the next day to buy it. There were only 2 that I saw left yesterday so I was glad one was still there. This is one of my favorite candies. If I could live solely on Peppermint Patties, Skittles, and water, I would. I’d probably be 1000 lbs though.

I know you don’t believe there are Peppermint Patties that big so I took a picture for you. I put a quarter (American) in the picture so you can see the relative size of it, 8 oz each. It is 13 cm (5 1/8 in) wide and 1.1 cm (3/8 in) thick. A serving size is 1/12 of the package. I guess they wanted to make it difficult for me so I have to figure out I would cut each one into sixths.

8 oz York Peppermint Patty

