I felt like baking something new this weekend so I decided to make some changes to a Betty Crocker recipe for Butter Pecan Chews.  I used ingredients that I already had which included sliced almonds, oats, and sweetened coconut flakes.  I was a little concerned with having to separate eggs since I had not done that before but it was really easy.   I replaced the flour with ground up old fashioned oats to make the base of the chews.  It was a thin layer at the bottom of the pan and after it was pre-cooked I was able to spread it out more evenly.
 
m_IMG_1938 m_IMG_1941
 
I cut the amount of brown sugar in half mostly because I thought it may be too sweet with the sweetened coconut.  Below are the pictures of the egg yolk/almond/coconut mixture before and after adding the foamy egg whites.
 
m_IMG_1943 m_IMG_1944
 
The recipe called for the bars to be cut into 36 pieces but I did 16.  It still ended up being very sweet but good.  If I had to do this with new ingredients, I would use unsweetened coconut but still have half the brown sugar.
 
m_IMG_1948 m_IMG_1950
 
 
Ingredients:
 
3 eggs (separated)
1.5 cup old fashioned oat flour (2.125 cups of oats)
3 tablespoons sugar
0.75 cup Country Crock spread
1.25 cups light brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
0.5 teaspoon salt
1 cup sliced almonds
0.75 cup flaked coconut
 
 
Procedure:
 

  1. Heat oven to 375o
  2. Grease 13×9 in pan lined with non-stick foil
  3. Grind up old fashioned oats into flour
  4. Mix flour, granulated sugar, and butter in a medium bowl
  5. Press mixture in the bottom of the pan
  6. Bake for 12-14 min or until light brown
  7. Beat egg yolks, brown sugar, vanilla, and salt with electric mixer
  8. Stir in almonds and coconut
  9. Beat egg whites until foamy in small bowl
  10. Fold into egg yolk mixture
  11. Remove partially baked crust from oven
  12. Spread filling over the crust
  13. Reduce oven temp to 350o
  14. Bake for 25 – 30 min or until deep golden brown and center is set
