foodchallenge

I wrote about doing this in a previous post but I realized this was big enough to be its own thing. The original site for the Foodie Challenge is here. There are 12 things to be done once a month for the year. I’ll probably just try to do all the things. I may do a few things in one month. I have already finished number 7 at the end of January. Number 3 is specific to March (Pi Day) and I have posted things about that before. I’ll keep updating and listing the places I have gone. Since I am new to the area I thought it would be a good way to see what food is around. Plus, I like food. Number 11 I changed because it was alcohol related and I don’t drink. The author of the post suggested alternatives for me.
 
 
1. Attend at least one local food festival.
 
2. Try 3 food trucks.
 
3. Celebrate Pi Day on 3/14 with pie from a local bakery.
 
4. Sample 10 new to you dishes from our list of 100 things to eat.
 
5. Take a cooking class and learn to make a new dish.
 
6. Buy produce at a local farmer’s market.
 
7. Take a food tour.
 

I went on a food tour from The Downtown Dish (Huntsville). Their twitter page isn’t very active but they are on Facebook. I really liked it. I got more food than I have gotten on other tours and they actually let you sit in the restaurants. It is definitely worth the money.

 
8. Try 5 new to you restaurants. Not sure where to start? Let Huntsville Eats help you find something tasty.
 
9. Try one of our local dives.
 
10. Eat something you’ve never had before. If you usually stick to meat and potatoes, branch out to Greek, Indian, Vietnamese, or Thai. If you are a more adventurous sort, try tongue, alligator, or kimchi.
 
11. Try drinks at a local juice bar and/or local specialized soda.
 
12. Give the gift of local food. Or a gift certificate to a favorite local restaurant.

