Crawfish Boil(1)

Here is the update for the Foodie Challenge for the month of April. A did a couple of festivals this month.
 
1. Attend at least one local food festival.

This month I went to 2 festivals. The first was a buffalo wings festival called, Battle of the Buffalo. It’s run by a frat to raise money for a cancer charity. The organization seemed ok. I thought I would get some kind of program to let me know what restaurants were there but nope. Buying a ticket gets you a certain number of raffle type tickets. 1 ticket gets you a drink. The other tickets are for wings. Each ticket gets you 2 wings at a restaurant booth. I got there early and by time I was ready to leave, about 1.5 hr later, at least 1 restaurant was out of wings. A lot of the wings were dry but I think they were trying to keep them warm and may have overcooked. In general, it was good. I may go back next year.
 
I also went to the Heads-N-Tails Crawfish Boil. This is the first time I have had crawfish. Here they sell it by the pound. I got 1 pound and a half pound of shrimp. It was much smaller than I thought it would be. There were only 3 food booths and a few vendors selling random things. A band was playing as well. Again, I got there early because I saw reviews of people complaining that they run out of crawfish early. I made the good decision to take some containers with me. I got my food, put it in the containers, and went home to eat my food. I found out that crawfish is just ok. It is a lot of work to eat for an ok taste.  I’m not sure if I would go back.

2. Try 3 food trucks.
 
3. Celebrate Pi Day on 3/14 with pie from a local bakery. (March)
 
4. Sample 10 new to you dishes from our list of 100 things to eat. (1 – February)
 
5. Take a cooking class and learn to make a new dish.
 
6. Buy produce at a local farmer’s market.
 
7. Take a food tour. (January)
 
8. Try 5 new to you restaurants. Not sure where to start? Let Huntsville Eats help you find something tasty. (3 – February)

I’m on a mission to find good non-chain pizza. I ended up at a place that was a chain that I didn’t know about and the pizza was not good.

9. Try one of our local dives.
 
10. Eat something you’ve never had before. If you usually stick to meat and potatoes, branch out to Greek, Indian, Vietnamese, or Thai. If you are a more adventurous sort, try tongue, alligator, or kimchi. (kimchi – January)

I had crawfish.

11. Try drinks at a local juice bar and/or local specialized soda.
 
12. Give the gift of local food. Or a gift certificate to a favorite local restaurant.

