Here is the update for the Foodie Challenge for the months of June and July. The last 2 months have been busy. I traveled home for July 4th and I got a new job at my same employer this month. I did manage to work on the foodie challenge.
 
1. Attend at least one local food festival. (2 – April, 2 – May)
 
2. Try 3 food trucks.
 
3. Celebrate Pi Day on 3/14 with pie from a local bakery. (March)
 
4. Sample 10 new to you dishes from our list of 100 things to eat. (1 – January, 1 – February, 1 – May, 2 – July)

For July, I had firecracker shrimp (Grille 29) and chicken tenders (Tenders!).

5. Take a cooking class and learn to make a new dish.
 
6. Buy produce at a local farmer’s market. (1 – May)
 
7. Take a food tour. (January)
 
8. Try 5 new to you restaurants. Not sure where to start? Let Huntsville Eats help you find something tasty. (3 – February, 1 – April, 3 – May, 1 – June, 2 – July)

In the last 2 months I have tried a few new places in and out of Huntsville: Potstickers, Grille 29, Tenders!. All the food was good so I’ll go back to all of them for sure.

9. Try one of our local dives.
 
10. Eat something you’ve never had before. If you usually stick to meat and potatoes, branch out to Greek, Indian, Vietnamese, or Thai. If you are a more adventurous sort, try tongue, alligator, or kimchi. (kimchi – January, crawfish – April, potstickers – July)

I had tried these spinach and shrimp potstickers at a restaurant called Potstickers. It’s like a Chinese dumpling. It was really good. I almost didn’t get them but I’m glad I did.

11. Try drinks at a local juice bar and/or local specialized soda.
 
12. Give the gift of local food. Or a gift certificate to a favorite local restaurant.

