juice and sodas

Here is the update for the Foodie Challenge for the month of August. I decided to do the drinks challenge this month as shown above.
 
1. Attend at least one local food festival. (2 – April, 2 – May)
 
2. Try 3 food trucks.
 
3. Celebrate Pi Day on 3/14 with pie from a local bakery. (March)
 
4. Sample 10 new to you dishes from our list of 100 things to eat. (1 – January, 1 – February, 1 – May, 2 – July)
 
5. Take a cooking class and learn to make a new dish.
 
6. Buy produce at a local farmer’s market. (1 – May)
 
7. Take a food tour. (January)
 
8. Try 5 new to you restaurants. Not sure where to start? Let Huntsville Eats help you find something tasty. (3 – February, 1 – April, 3 – May, 1 – June, 2 – July)
 
9. Try one of our local dives.
 
10. Eat something you’ve never had before. If you usually stick to meat and potatoes, branch out to Greek, Indian, Vietnamese, or Thai. If you are a more adventurous sort, try tongue, alligator, or kimchi. (kimchi – January, crawfish – April, potstickers – July)
 
11. Try drinks at a local juice bar and/or local specialized soda.

I tried some cold pressed juice at The Juicery that I really liked. It is expensive so it’s not something I would do every day.  It was $9 for 500 mL of juice. Since it isn’t pasteurized it is only good for about 4 days. I got to sample 3 juices before I bought one.   I also tried Pure Sodaworks soda but I didn’t like it.

12. Give the gift of local food. Or a gift certificate to a favorite local restaurant.

